Pirlo, Iniesta, Ozil, Ribery among midfielders shortlisted for FIFA World XI

Andres Iniesta, Mesut Ozil, Andrea Pirlo and Franck Ribery, have all been named among the 15 nominees for the World Players’ Union, FIFpro and FIFA World XI 2012.

The shortlist of midfielders, follow a 5-man nominees’ list of goalkeepers and 20 defenders, which was revealed earlier this month. A list of 15 forwards will be unveiled this Friday.
The final XI will be announced on January 9, 2013.


Full 15-player midfield shortlist:

Xabi Alonso (Spain / Real Madrid), Sergio Busquets (Spain / Barcelona), Cesc Fabregas (Spain / Barcelona), Steven Gerrard (England / Liverpool), Eden Hazard (Belgium / Chelsea), Andres Iniesta (Spain / Barcelona), Frank Lampard (England / Chelsea), Luka Modric (Croatia / Real Madrid), Mesut Ozil (Germany / Real Madrid), Andrea Pirlo (Italy / Juventus), Franck Ribery (France / Bayern Munich), David Silva (Spain / Manchester City), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany / Bayern Munich), Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire / Manchester City), Xavi (Spain / Barcelona).

The goalkeeper list consists of Gianluigi Buffon, Iker Casillas, Petr Cech, Joe Hart and Manuel Neuer.

The 20-man shortlist for defence includes Carles Puyol, Sergio Ramos, Pepe, Thiago Silva and Mats Hummels.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button