Today’s Headlines: Sanwo-Olu wins all LGAs announced, Peter Obi bemoans deaths on guber election day

Sanwo-Olu wins all LGAs announced

Babajide Sanwo-Olu, the governor of Lagos, is leading in the governorship election of the state.

Sanwo-Olu is contesting against Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour of the Labour Party (LP) and Abdul-Azeez Adediran of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) for the governorship position.

The incumbent governor has won all the 18 LGAs announced so far by officials of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Sanwo defeated the LP governorship candidate in his LGA — Ikeja. He polled 32,273 votes to defeat Rhodes-Vivour who had 15,174.

In his own LGA — Lagos Island — Sanwo-Olu won by a healthy margin.

The Lagos governor also won Surulere LGA, the base of Babatunde Fashola, minister of works and housing, and Femi Gbajabiamila, speaker of the house of representatives.

In Ojo, the LGA of the PDP candidate, Sanwo-Olu also posted a convincing victory.

Photo credit || Google

  1. (Watch what occurred in this News)
  2. (Watch what occurred in this News)

Peter Obi bemoans deaths on guber election day

The presidential candidate of the Labour Party, Peter Obi, has lamented the loss of lives recorded during the governorship and state assembly elections on Saturday.

Obi expressed sadness over the deaths of Nigerians resulting from acts of violence executed by political thugs in some polling centres across the country.

Vanguard earlier reported that voters died in Rivers, Akwa Ibom, Delta, Benue, Niger and Osun states while trying to exercise their civic rights.

Several incidents of attacks and voter suppression were also reported in some states.

Reacting to all the nefarious and tragic incidents, Obi, in a tweet on Sunday, also condoled with the victims and the bereaved while praying for a quick recovery for the wounded.

“With sadness, my heart goes deeply to the Nigerians who lost their lives and those who were maimed for participating in such a simple thing as an election. My prayers and wishes for a quick recovery of the injured,” he said.

“My sincere condolences to the families of those who lost their lives. May God Almighty grant them eternal rest, and grant their families the fortitude to bear their sad irreplaceable loss.

“I pray earnestly that God Almighty will save and help Nigeria out of this precarious situation.”

Makinde in early lead, wins 17 out of 18 LGs in Oyo

Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State is currently leading all other candidates in the gubernatorial election in the state.

The election was held in all 33 local government areas of the state on Saturday.

DAILY POST reports that three major candidates contested the election, they include Makinde, who is seeking re-election on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Senator Teslim Folarin of All Progressives Congress (APC), and Adebayo Adelabu of Accord.

Makinde is reported to be leading all other candidates based on the results so far released.

Results of eighteen (18) out of the thirty three (33) local government areas have been announced as at the time of filing this report on Sunday.

The results were announced at the venue of the collation inside the premises of Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Ibadan.

The election results shows that Makinde of PDP has won in seventeen (17) out of the eighteen (18) local government areas.

PDP floors other political parties in Rivers

The Governorship Candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party(PDP) in Rivers State, Siminalaye Fubara is in the clear lead as the collation of governorship results commences at the state office of the Independent National Electoral(INEC) on Aba road in Port Harcourt.

The party has won all the nine Local Government Areas results collated.

Fubara, who is simply referred to as Sim leads Tonye Cole of the All Progressives Congress(APC), Magnus Abe of the Social Democratic Party(SDP), and Dumo Lulu-Briggs of the Accord, Beatrice Itubo of the Labour Party(LP) who are the frontline political parties in the state.

The results, however, have caused chaos at the state collation centre as party agents alleged discrepancies in the figure on the INEC portal.

But Sim seems to be coasting home to victory as he has won one-third of the ballot already, winning nine out of the 23 Local Government Areas in the state.

So far, the nine councils collated are Tai, Etche, Gokana, Khana, Eleme, Ogu/Bolo, Opobo/Nkoro, Ikwerre, and Oyigbo.

Earlier, the INEC State Collation officer of the state, Professor Akpofure Rim-Rukeh, urged party agents to act in accordance with the stipulation of the Electoral Act.

The collation started a few minutes before 11 AM.

Assembly Election 2023: Lagos Speaker wins sixth term

The Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Mudashiru Obasa, has been elected for a sixth term to represent Agege 1 constituency in the state assembly.

The INEC Returning Officer for Agege constituency election, Dr Lukman Adeniji, made the declaration on Sunday at the Collation Centre in Orile Agege.

He said that eight political parties fielded candidates for the election held on Saturday.

According to him, Obasa secured 17,214 votes to beat Raheem Alani of the Labour Party who had 3,933, Kafayat Biobaku of the African Democratic Congress with 62 votes while the Peoples Democratic Party got 1,609 votes.

“Mubashiru Obasa of the All Progressives Congress having satisfied the requirements of the law, has scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and returned elected,” Adeniji said.

In a related development, Alhaji Jubreel Abdulkareem of the APC also won the Agege Constituency 2 Assembly seat.

Abdulkareem, a former Chairman of Agege Local Government Area, secured 15,676 votes to defeat the Labour Party and the PDP candidates who polled 7,159 and 1,598 votes respectively.

light (

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button