Justice Phillips: Lagos election tribunal resumes sitting soon

Following yesterday’s protest at the Ikeja High Court by supporters of Mr. Babajide Ibrahim Obanikoro, son of former Nigeria High Commissioner to Ghana, who was declared winner of the Ikoyi-Obalende Local Council Development Area by the Lagos state election tribunal, the Lagos Chief Judge, Justice Ayotunde Phillips said today the appeal tribunal will soon commence sitting.

Hundreds of Obanikoro’s supporter had stormed the court to register their displeasure over the indefinite adjournment of the appeal filed by ACN candidate, Adewale Adeniji

In what appears to be a swift reaction to the protest, the CJ today assured members of the public that the appeal tribunal will soon resume hearing of all petitions brought before it.

Members of the appeal tribunal include, Justice Opeyemi Oke, Justice Candide-Johnson, Justice Mojisola Dada and Justice Olatunde Oshodi.

Click to see the Video on Twitter,,,Watch video on Twittter

Justice Habeeb Abiru who was formally a member of the committee has been replaced by Justice Kazeem Alogba following the former elevation as a court of appeal Judge.

At the swearing in ceremony of Justice Alogba today, Chief Justice Ayotunde Phillips charged all members of the appeal tribunal to be fearless in the discharge of all the matters before them.

She urged them not to be swayed by political remarks or publication in the newspaper.

Chairman of the Tribunal, Justice Oke assured the CJ that they will discharge their duties diligently without fear or favour.

One of the immediate cases before the tribunal is the appeal filed by ACN candidate Adewale Adeniji.

A five man election petition tribunal had last month nullified the declaration of Adewale Adeniji, as winner of the election in the LCDA and declared Mr Obanikoro the duly elected chairman for the area.

The tribunal held that Obanikoro won the election with 3,780 votes as against Mr Adeniji who scored 3,248 votes.





Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button