AFRIMA 2019: Full list of winners

The 2019 All Africa Music Awards, AFRIMA, took place on Saturday, November 24 at the Eko Convention centre, Lagos. This is the 6th edition of the award ceremony.

The awards event was established by the International Committee AFRIMA, in collaboration with the African Union (AU) to reward and celebrate musical works, talents and creativity around the African continent while promoting the African cultural heritage.

Its pioneer Awards show was held in 2014.

This years’ Legendary awards recipients are international Nigerian music icon, 2Baba; and Congolese music veteran, Awilo Longomba.

Unlike others, this category is not open to public voting, but determined by the African Union, International Committee of AFRIMA and the AFRIMA Jury.

Burna Boy’s ‘African Giant’ won the Album of the Year; he also won the Best Male Artiste in Western Africa for his song “Ye”, while Wizkid’s song – Fever – featuring Tiwa Savage, won the Song of the Year.


See the full list of winners below:

Female Artist in Western Africa: Tiwa Savage (Nigeria)

Male Artist in Western Africa: Burna Boy (Nigeria)

Artiste, Duo or Group in African Pop: Joeboy (Nigeria)

Best African DJ: DJ Spinall (Nigeria) – ‘Dis Love’ ft. Wizkid, Tiwa Savage

Best Artist, Duo or Group in African Contemporary: 2Baba (Nigeria) – ‘Oyi’


Other winners and their categories are:

Best Male Artist in Central Africa: Salatiel (Cameroon) – ‘Anita’

Best Female Artist in Central Africa: Khaligraph Jones (Kenya) – ‘Leave Me Alone’

Female Artist in Eastern Africa: Nikita Kering (Kenya) – ‘Happy With You’

Best Male Artist in Northern Africa: Amiinux (Morocco) – ‘Bini W Biwaen’

Ng daily

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Read also x